NATIONAL NEWS

Spring equinox: First day of spring ushers in longer days and ancient ways

Mar 19, 2024, 10:35 AM

Surrounded by near-peak cherry blossoms, people dance to celebrate the first day of spring in 2023 ...

Surrounded by near-peak cherry blossoms, people dance to celebrate the first day of spring in 2023 at the Tidal Basin in Washington. Mandatory Credit: Matt McClain/The Washington Post/Getty Images via CNN Newsource

(CNN) — For those of us who approach things by the Goldilocks Principle (not too little, not too much), spring equinox is practically perfect.

Along with the fall equinox, this is when we get that glorious balance of daytime and nighttime all over the world – from the steamy equator to the frigid poles – with just about 12 hours of each. No one goes through the extremes like you see with the winter solstice or summer solstice.

In 2024, spring equinox is either on Tuesday, March 19, or Wednesday, March 20. All that depends on where you’re located.

Precisely when will the spring equinox happen?

The spring equinox will arrive exactly at 3:06 UTC (Coordinated Universal Time) on Wednesday, March 20, according to EarthSky.

For the vast majority of people in the Western Hemisphere, that places the equinox on Tuesday, March 19. Here’s a breakdown of times and dates at select cities around the world (adjusted for Daylight Saving Time):

• Anchorage (Alaska): 7:06 p.m. Tuesday
• Las Vegas (Nevada): 8:06 p.m. Tuesday
• Guadalajara (Mexico): 9:06 p.m. Tuesday
• Chicago (Illinois): 10:06 p.m. Tuesday
• Toronto (Canada) and Jacksonville (Florida): 11:06 p.m.

For time zones east of the above, the equinox falls on Wednesday, March 20. Some more places:

• Halifax (Canada): 12:06 a.m.
• Dublin (Ireland) and Accra (Ghana): 3:06 a.m.
• Berlin (Germany): 4:06 a.m.
• Alexandria (Egypt): 5:06 a.m.
• Ankara (Turkey): 6:06 a.m.
• Dubai (United Arab Emirates): 7:06 a.m.
• Mumbai (India): 8:36 a.m.
• Chiang Mai (Thailand): 10:06 a.m.
• Hong Kong: 11:06 a.m.
• Tokyo (Japan): 12:06 p.m.

Don’t see your city represented? Click here to look up the exact moment of the spring equinox where you’re located.

For some, fall is in the air

Folks in the Northern Hemisphere are looking forward to longer days, perfumy flowers and a burst of greenery. But for people living south of the equator, this equinox means they are heading into fall.

So for Chileans, South Africans and Australians, among others, this is a time to embrace cooler autumn weather.

For people who reside near the equator in places such as Quito, Ecuador, or Singapore, none of this is really a big deal. They get roughly 12 hours of daylight and nighttime year-round.

Spring equinox has another name

If you ever hear anyone say “vernal equinox,” it means the same thing.

The term equinox comes from the Latin word “equinoxium,” meaning “equality between day and night.” And vernal also comes from Latin and means “spring.”

Why does the spring equinox happen?

The Earth rotates along an imaginary line that runs from North Pole to South Pole. It’s called the axis, and this rotation is what gives us day and night.

However, the axis tilts at 23.5 degrees, as NASA explains. That positions one hemisphere of the planet to get more sunlight than the other for half of the year’s orbit around the sun. This discrepancy in sunlight is what triggers the seasons.

The effect is at its maximum in late June and late December. Those are the solstices, and they have the most extreme differences between day and night, especially near the poles. (That’s why it stays dark for so long each day during the winter in places such as Scandinavia and Alaska.)

But since the winter solstice three months ago in December, you’ve probably noticed that our days have been getting longer in the Northern Hemisphere and the nights shorter. And now here we are at the spring equinox!

Going forward, the Northern Hemisphere will be more exposed to the sun than the Southern Hemisphere. That’s why it gets increasingly warmer as we head toward the summer solstice in June.

The equinoxes aren’t exactly ‘equal’

Bonus time! It turns out you get a tad more daylight than darkness on the equinox – and how much so depends where you are on the planet.

How does that happen when it’s supposed to be 12 hours of day and 12 hours night?

As the US National Weather Service explains, the “nearly” equal hours of day and night are because of the complex way a sunrise is measured and the refraction of sunlight in our atmosphere.

This bending of light rays “causes the sun to appear above the horizon when the actual position of the sun is below the horizon.” The day is a bit longer at higher latitudes than at the equator because it takes the sun longer to rise and set the closer you get to the poles.

We got that truly equal day/night split a few days before the official spring equinox. That’s called the equilux.

Special sites and celebrations

Humans have had a love affair with spring and all thing celestial.

In Mexico, the Mayan site Chichén Itzá has special equinox ties. At the site, the impressive pyramid known as El Castillo was aligned so that a shadow outlining the form of a snake of light (Kukulcán) descends the steps on the equinoxes.

In England, the mysterious stone structure of Stonehenge has been a popular gathering place for solstices and equinoxes for ages. English Heritage currently organizes the events.

On the Mediterranean island Malta, an ancient megalithic temple in the Mnajdra complex is aligned so that the rays of the morning sun of the spring and fall equinox shine directly through the main entrance.

Cultures around the world celebrate the equinox. Here are a few:

In Japan, Vernal Equinox Day is a public holiday (on Wednesday, March 20, this year). Many people still adhere to old traditions such as visiting family graves and holding family reunions to mark the spring equinox.

Nowruz is the Persian New Year. Also known as Nauryz, Navruz or Nowrouz, it means “new day.”

It’s no coincidence it falls on the first day of spring. The Iranian calendar is a solar calendar, meaning time is determined, through astronomical observations, by Earth’s movement around the sun. So, the first day of the year always kicks off with the vernal equinox.

It’s a celebration of new beginnings: wishing prosperity and welcoming the future while shedding away the past. That’s why families use this time to deep clean their homes and closets and buy fresh clothing.

In China, trying to stand an egg upright is a popular game during the spring equinox, according to VisitBeijing.com. The custom is thought to go back thousands of years, and it’s believed that if people can get an egg to stand, they will have good luck. And people across China eat local spring vegetables.


The-CNN-Wire™ & © 2024 Cable News Network, Inc., a Warner Bros. Discovery Company. All rights reserved.

KSL 5 TV Live

National News

WASHINGTON - APRIL 14:  Activists line Wisconsin Avenue during a vigil outside the residence of Vic...

Matthew Barakat, Associated Press

Jury deliberating in Iraq Abu Ghraib prison abuse civil case; contractor casts blame on Army

A lawyer for a military contractor being sued by three survivors of the notorious Abu Ghraib prison in Iraq says the plaintiffs are suing the wrong people.

20 minutes ago

This image provided by the Topeka Zoo shows Karen, an ostrich at the Topeka Zoo in Topeka, Kan. The...

Associated Press

An adored ostrich at a Kansas zoo has died after swallowing a staff member’s keys

A beloved ostrich at the Topeka Zoo & Conservation Center in Kansas has died after swallowing a staff member's keys.

40 minutes ago

Layton Utah temple photo show with others in Utah announced at West Jordan and Lehi...

KSL TV

Three temple locations, including West Jordan and Lehi, announced

Today, the locations for three temples — two in Utah, West Jordan and Lehi, and one in Florida — were announced.

54 minutes ago

Some of Taylor Swift's most beloved songs are heart breaking -- and that can be helpful, experts sa...

Madeline Holcombe, CNN

Why everyone is crying to Taylor’s breakup songs

Fans were waiting with bated breath for the emotional torment they were sure would come from “The Tortured Poets Department,” Taylor Swift’s 11th studio album.

1 hour ago

FILE: A Brightline train is seen at the new MiamiCentral terminal during the inaugural trip from Mi...

Ken Ritter

Work starts on bullet train rail line from Sin City to the City of Angels

A $12 billion high-speed passenger rail line between Las Vegas and the Los Angeles area has started construction.

3 hours ago

The New Horizons spacecraft took an image of Pluto's heart on July 14, 2015. (Johns Hopkins Univers...

Ashley Strickland

Pluto gained a ‘heart’ after colliding with a planetary body

A huge heart-shaped feature on the surface of Pluto has intrigued astronomers since NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft captured it in a 2015 image. Now, researchers think they have solved the mystery of how the distinctive heart came to be.

4 hours ago

Sponsored Articles

Women hold card for scanning key card to access Photocopier Security system concept...

Les Olson

Why Printer Security Should Be Top of Mind for Your Business

Connected printers have vulnerable endpoints that are an easy target for cyber thieves. Protect your business with these tips.

Modern chandelier hanging from a white slanted ceiling with windows in the backgruond...

Lighting Design

Light Up Your Home With These Top Lighting Trends for 2024

Check out the latest lighting design trends for 2024 and tips on how you can incorporate them into your home.

Technician woman fixing hardware of desktop computer. Close up....

PC Laptops

Tips for Hassle-Free Computer Repairs

Experiencing a glitch in your computer can be frustrating, but with these tips you can have your computer repaired without the stress.

Close up of finger on keyboard button with number 11 logo...

PC Laptops

7 Reasons Why You Should Upgrade Your Laptop to Windows 11

Explore the benefits of upgrading to Windows 11 for a smoother, more secure, and feature-packed computing experience.

Stylish room interior with beautiful Christmas tree and decorative fireplace...

Lighting Design

Create a Festive Home with Our Easy-to-Follow Holiday Prep Guide

Get ready for festive celebrations! Discover expert tips to prepare your home for the holidays, creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for unforgettable moments.

Battery low message on mobile device screen. Internet and technology concept...

PC Laptops

9 Tips to Get More Power Out of Your Laptop Battery

Get more power out of your laptop battery and help it last longer by implementing some of these tips from our guide.

Spring equinox: First day of spring ushers in longer days and ancient ways